Project Pagan Enough part 2 – A.W.O.L.   2 comments

A.W.O.B.

Yeah, yeah, I know that I am a little behind times, by maybe 2 years, but that is me all over with current fashions and thinking trends. And you know what, I just do not care.

So reading a few threads, blogs and websites I find out about Project Pagan Enough, been there, done that, gave my sixpence worth. But while saying my Prayer to Danu last night, I remembered a thread I had read. This was about setting up a “minimum standard”, but I can not for the life of me remember the site, WordPress or somewhere else. Anyhow, this got me thinking, could it work? Err no. How would we set up a “Council of Elders” to lay out the rules and regs.

So how would we set up a Council, one from each Path? Do we accept Voodoo and Satanist? What about Shinto, Hindi. Hmmm, good question methinks, but where will it stop. Of course we have to accept the Pagan/* whatever, Christian, Muslim, etc.

So I can see how it would go. Wicca, Shinto, Hindi, and Druid will have the most members, so they will have a louder voice, than say Shaman or NeoGreek. But what if you do not fit into the main Paths, well my friends, that one is easy, who gives a damn about you, well you do for one, and I do for two but considering that neither You nor I will be on this Council, mute point I think. Sorry.

So we have set up this council, and a set of Rules is passed down that everyone must adhere to. I can really see that working, NOT. Hell even amongst the Main Wicca Paths there will be infighting. “Who put them in Charge, Why am I not on this Council, I am going to form my own Council then we will show them. “ It will be like the European Union, or worse. A bang on the door at two in the morning with the goon squad whisking you away for improper dress sense or the improper use of an incense stick. Yeah, laugh it up. You know it could happen. And who gets to be the Pagan Pope?

So here’s an idea. FOAD with that idea.

Here’s another idea, and I really think that this is a corker of an idea. Drop this stupid idea. It is even worse than “You are not Pagan Enough” or the Common Agriculture Commission from the EU. You want to be Pagan, cool, go for it. You do not want to be Pagan, cool, go for it, or we all could just drop the entire “Pagan” bull, and class us all as Alternative Faiths, Any which is not one of the main recognised Faiths, in which case the Satanist and the Voodoo followers can then be inside this umbrella term. Which brings us to A.W.O.L. this also means Alternative Way Of Life or change Life to Faith or Belief, granted Rockers, Goths, Punks, and Bikers are A.W.O.L. but so are the Wicca, Druid, Nordic, Celtic, etc. although maybe if Druid and Wicca were classed as main Recognised Faiths along with Christian, Hindi, Muslim or Shinto et al. then maybe we would not be even thinking about this. Because if you are Wicca you are Wicca, If Christian, you are Christian. Until you amalgamate different Faiths, Christian and Wicca as an example, then you may be classed as Not Wicca Enough, or Not Christian Enough, but you would always be Alternative Enough.

Earth, Gods, Nature, Magic, Occult, Magick are all Alt. Beliefs, regardless to Whom you Pray to and how often, if Anything at all.

And this does not mean that you have to dress in a leather Jacket and ripped jeans, or you have to listen to Rock or New-Age music. Unless you want to anyway. I do but as from one of my other blogs I am into Heavy Rock. If your usual is skirt and cardigan with a blouse and listen to easy listening or County, then why would you even think about changing. Alt. Belief is different to Alt. Fashion and Music. Personally I can not stand PVC or Latex clothing. Or Death Metal, My choice. And how “Eco” have you got to be? Answer “How eco do you want to be?” Some class Pagan as Earth based religions but with Alt. Beliefs there is absolutely no such misconstrued ideas. Not Officially State Recognised religions. Not picking on them but I can never see Satanism becoming an OSR, but they are an Alt. Belief system. My Faith will never become an OSR, but it is an Alt. Belief system.

So could this work? Drop Pagan and call ourselves Alternative Faiths, (or Alt. Faith/Belief). I personally think that it could, and do we really need a Council to guide us. I do not, I know that for sure, and in certain Faiths there is already a Council of sorts, who guide the Faithful, which is cool, but honestly how many of us really need a council, or just a friend to help and “Advise” and “Suggest” but not demand. I would rather have 1 friend than 20 Council Members who will mainly be looking out for their own interests. And to be honest, would I even want to be on this council. No, I have enough trouble and stress in my life without having to figure why Alt. Religion has gone political.

And what about mixed Covens, with different Paths working together? Would this be outlawed, or enforced. I have worked with a Wiccan, and a Runic Warrior, and a Satanist at different times, but mainly I work alone. I do not want to “have to” join a Coven. But I guess that if we have a council and I am ostracised from wherever, then I really do not care, but others might.

So where do we go from here, my personal views on the term “Pagan“ is written elsewhere on here, so I do not have to repeat it. But one final question for you gentle reader. Who and when did the term Pagan come into main use to explain our religious beliefs? I really do not know, but I am curious to find out. 50 years ago? 100? 500? Mainstream press? Gardiner? Tudor? Edwardian? Cromwell?

Guess what, yeah, another Question. Apart from trying to explain to those of OSR Faiths what out beliefs are, how often do we really use the term Pagan? Apart from on here I very rarely use the term to describe myself, unless it is to outsiders from OSR Faiths, and then only the once. So how often would I use Alt. Belief, about the same. But it may stop the infighting which certain groups and people have started with the term Pagan, but then maybe not. But if Druid and Wicca wanted to be classed at OSR’s then that is all to the good for them, they will not be Alt. Beliefs, but OSR Beliefs, which in reality they are already. Saying this I know from previous conversations with Wiccans that not all Wiccans would be happy with their Faith going Mainstream. I have not spoken to any Druids, as far as I am aware, with regards to this, so I am not sure. But one upside to this would be that if Wicca and Druid went OSR mainstream, that could benefit all of the Alt. Faiths from religious attacks.

Cor. I do go on a bit, don’t I.

If you Listen to Fools, the Mob Rules. Is the wise man always right? No, he can play the Fool. RIP Ronny J Dio.

2 responses to “Project Pagan Enough part 2 – A.W.O.L.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s really a nice and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Messenger | faithinbalance

Leave a Reply

Gypsy Kiltbomb

American by birth, Scottish by injection.

Where Spirit Stops

Everything Happens.

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

predencia

poet dancer actor writer

Writing Creatively With Spirit

A journey of psychic discovery

shamanicreadings

A journey into the magic of life

"The Lokean"

...Because that's how it appears in search engines. -Ren (Tyrienne)

The Road to Hel

A Buddhist's Travels Through Heathenry and Beyond

Shamanic Transformation

Grandmother of the Soul: the circle of wisdom

mysticalmoonstar

Unravelling the magick and mystery of hedge~witchery.

Sang Rouge Terre Blanc

A Mystery School For The 21st Century

The Chaos Witch

unscrewing the universe one lightbulb at a time

Shamanism à trois

garden spiders, lab glass & green tartan kilts

Confessions of a Hedge Witch

on the cunning arts, and other strange tales

Dustin McMahon

Columns from the Left

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

News For Animal Welfare

Dedicated to bringing worldwide issues of animal welfare to the forefront of everyday life.

The IDEA Bucket

Brings you the latest brew

Seven Spheres

Aqua Terra Ignis et Aer

I Have Seen God

A Journal of Personal Revelation from a Liberal Panentheist.

Lateral Love

"The time is always right to do what is right" ~ Martin Luther King Jr

Charlotte Shirvington

My journalistic work.

RoseDixon.net

Cogito Ergo Blogo

Dancing with Fireflies

Reflections from the Firefly Court: One sarcastic witch's chaotic search for magic within the mundane

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Pagan Quest

Leaving the past, creating the future.

Mexican Pagan

Life, craft, learnings about being a Pagan in a small town in Mexico.

An Ásatrú Blog

An Exploration of the Elder Troth

  Rogue Priest

a philosopher's journey to meet the gods

The Druid Bird

thoughts from a warped reality

Twilight Path

thoughts, dreams, musings

Primordial EarthSky

It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to. — J.R.R. Tolkien

Leonard - a boy and his wand

Tales of Leonard's journey

Mistress Babylon-Consort

Musings from a Modern Satanist and petulant High Priestess of the Sect of the Horned God

The Life and Times of a Forever Witch

Pagan-inspired philosophy and other interesting "stuff" from a practicing witch

The Bruised Candle

A Place for Witches in Training

Dracula's Widow's personal journey

... and the mess that it is.

mutteringsfromtheotherside

Just another WordPress.com site

Son of Hel

I walk a Helish road, the only road that I have ever known.

